Friday, May 6, 2011

Winston Co. Not Yet Included in Federal Disaster Program

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today more than $1.6 million in federal and state aid has been approved for Mississippi storm survivors in 11 counties but at this point (11:30 am, 5-6-11), Winston County is not included. As of Wednesday evening 1,043 residents in Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Greene, Hinds, Jasper,Kemper, Lafayette, Monroe, Neshoba and Webster were approved for a total of $1,627,076 for the Individuals and Households Program.
The proper paperwork and procedures have been followed by county personnel and is currently in federal hands. Winston Co. Emergency Management Director Clarence Kelly indicated today that MEMA (Mississippi Ememergy Management Agency) had informed him that the paperwork was sitting in Washington waiting for review and that it was likely to be approved. If included in the Federal Disaster program, residents of Winston County would be eligible for numerous types of financial aid in grants and SBA loans.
Individual assistance for eligible homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for rental housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Representatives are available to explain the full range of application options available including assistance for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses.
Low-interest loans from the SBA are available for eligible applicants to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance. Among the options are assistance for replacement of personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses. Other help at the centers may be provided by attorneys, crisis counselors and representatives of organizations such as the American Red Cross or local volunteer agencies.
William McCully & press releases

No comments:

Post a Comment